National Press Club Board of Governors October 17, 2011 Minutes

1. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Theresa Werner at 5:30 p.m.

Present: Chairman Theresa Werner, President Mark Hamrick, Vice President Keith Hill, Treasurer Myron Belkind, Membership Secretary Angela Greiling Keane, Vice Chairman John Donnelly, Patrick McGrath, Mike Soraghan, Mark Wojno, Rodrigo Valderrama, Ken Mellgren, Ed Barks, Shawn Bullard, John Hughes.

Absent: Secretary Joel Whitaker, Immediate Past President Alan Bjerga, NPC Institute President Richard Dunham, Director of Membership Recruitment Havilah Ross. Staff Present: General Manager, William McCarren.

2. Approval of Minutes. On motion by Soraghan/Mellgren, the minutes of the September board meeting were approved.

3. New Business

- a. **2012 Draft Budget** (Myron Belkind) Myron briefly reviewed the 2012 budget which he submitted in hard copy.
- b. Audit Search Committee (Myron Belkind/Ed Barks)

Myron described the process lead by Ed Barks to review options for audit firms. Ed mentioned that we had not conducted an audit selection review for 13 years. He began by looking at 12 firms and narrowed it down to 5 RFP proposals, interviewed three and determined objectively that he recommends we stay with Ribis, Jones & Maresca. There was a discussion about whether or not the team doing future audits would be different each year and that had been confirmed by both Myron and Ed.

It was noted by Myron that the board was grateful to the conscientious efforts by Ed Barks in doing due diligence with regard to this review.

It was moved and seconded that we retain Ribis, Jones, seconded by Myron. The motion passed. It was noted by both Ed Barks and Shawn Bullard, had they been able to vote, they would also have voted in favor of the motion.

President Mark Hamrick also expressed his appreciation to the committee, Ed in particular for working so hard and doing it right.

4. Membership.

On a motion by Greiling Keane/Hamrick the board approved recommended membership status changes.

On a motion by Greiling Kean/Hughes the board approved the slate of new applicants.

On a motion by Greiling Kean/Hughes, the board approved reciprocal agreements from Vienna and Mid-town, NY.

5. Treasurer's Report – (Myron Belkind)

Myron gave a brief overview and copies of his treasurer's report had been distributed in hard copy. He asked for any questions.

6. Executive Director's Report – (Bill McCarren)

The holiday schedules were discussed briefly and Bill opened a discussion on the pros and cons of opening the restaurant on New Year's Eve. He also mentioned the designation of a studio on the 14th floor for phone use by members who needed privacy for business calls. This was first suggested by the House & Bar committee. It would be scheduled one hour at a time.

7. President's Report – (Mark Hamrick)

Mark informed the board that Melissa Charbonneau, who has done an outstanding job as chair of the speakers committee will be moving to Afghanistan on a temporary assignment (1 year). Membership Secretary Angela Greiling Keane will stand in until the end of the current president's term. This is a very important position and we will need a new chair beginning with the next term. Melissa will be missed and the board is grateful for all of her hard work.

Mark mentioned the following upcoming events of note: Oct 26 Diversity Mixer which is a recruitment event. The 4th Estate Awards Diner for Jim Lehrer on October 28th. Future luncheon guests include Herman Cain (sold out), Tom Brokow, Harvey Levin and Natalie Cole.

Note: The next BOG meeting will be Nov 21, 2011.

It was moved and seconded that we adjourn at approximately 6:30 p.m. The Committee Liaison reports were not delivered verbally due to our abbreviated meeting however, Secretary Joel Whittaker has sent the board a separate e-mail with the written reports.

Respectfully submitted,

Ken Mellgren Acting Secretary

Name	Affiliation	Sponsor
<u>Journalist</u> Julie DiMauro	Thomas Reuters Commissioning Editor	Scott McCleoky
John R. Grano *	Senior Managing Editor Christian Post	Michelle Vu Lillian Kwon
William R. Koenig	Koenig International White House Correspondent	Janne Par John Gizzi
Fermin Lares*	Tal Cual (Venezuelan Daily Newspaper) Washington Correspondent	Membership Committee
John Klobucar	Associated Press Broadcast Sports Supervisor	Mark Hamrick
Kaznhiro Aoyama	Nippon TV Bureau Chief	Membership Committee
Mi-Kung Jung	Dong-A Ilbo Washington Bureau Correspondent	Membership Committee
John Michael Williams *	Assistive Technology News Reporter	Membership Committee
<u>Journalist Non-Resident</u> Lena Lewis	Reporter	Membership
David P. Karas	Fox 29 News The Times of Trenton	Committee Tim Young
Cathorino Naci	Reporter	David Cook
Catherine Ngai	American Metal Market Reporter	Membership Committee

Journalist Young Member		
Lewis E. McCrary	The American Conservative Magazine	Membership
	Senior Editor	Committee
Elaine Mui	Voice of Russia	Jamila Bey
	Reporter	Carmen Russell
Blair Chancey	Food News Media	Membership
	Editorial Director	Committee
Kimberly J. Brown	The Voice of Russia Radio	Tim Young
	Host of Weekday Radio Show	Jamila Bes
		NA 111 11
Jared Rizzi	Sirius XM Satellite Radio	Mark Hamrick
	Producer & Washington Correspondent	
Mark David Szakonyi	Journal of Commerce	John D. Boyd
	Editor	William B. Cassidy
Rachel Witkowski	American Banker	Joseph Adler
	Reporter	Annie Anderson
Roya Stephens	Thomson Reuters	Membership
	Reporter/Producer	Committee
Avuka Llirana		Momborship
Ayuko Hirano	Nippon TV Correspondent	Membership Committee
	correspondent	committee
Allen Gannett	George Washington University	Anthony Shop
	Student	
Journalist Non Resident Retired Jeffery Prussin*	Editor/Publisher	Membership
Jenery Frussin	Washington Institute	Committee
	Washington institute	committee
<u>Communicator</u>		
Don Podesta	Center for International Media Assistance	Marguerite Sullivan
DUITTUUESIA	Manager & Editor	JUIIIVAIT
	Managor & Luttor	

Dick Custin	U.S. Dept of State, Foreign Press Center Deputy Director	Neil Klopfenstein
<u>Communicator News Source</u> Barbara Keebler	Momenum Magazine & NCEA Notes Communications Director & Editor	Membership Committee
Thomas Young	Novelist Contracted to G.P Putnam's Sons	Membership Committee
James L. Rogers	Kaiser Permanente Director of Public Relations/Media Partner Relations	Membership Committee
Samuel Wells	Sodexo Inc. Director of Public Relations	Membership Committee
Rebecca Snyder	Federal News Service Vice President/General Manager	Carrie Mitchell
Dylan Miyake	Nonfiction Author Contributor to Magazines	Membership Committee
Susan Matthews Apgood	News Generation, Inc. President, Co-Founder	Ed Barks Kristina Messner
James V. Parenti	Associate Dean-Global Education Institute Georgetown University	Andrea McCarren Robert Manuel
Brenda Simms	IMSolutions, LLC Consultant/Writer	Membership Committee
<u>Communicator Non-Resident</u> Michael Brenner	University of Texas Director, International Relations	Membership Committee
Williams G. Hyland, Jr.	Law Offices of Jack D. Evans Professor	Membership Committee

<u>Communicator Young Member</u> Patrick Kiker	American Council Communications A	Membership Committee		
<u>Student</u> Traci Snyder	American University Student			Membership Committee
Paulette Waltz	Georgetown University Student			Membership Committee
*Denoted Reinstate				
Total Members as of 8/15: 3,342		3,280	Total as of 8/10:	
Total applications August: 30		38		
Applications to date: 246		290		
TOTAL JOURNALIST MEMBERS: 1,419		1,510		
TOTAL COMMUNICATOR NEWS SO 765	732			
TOTAL MEMBERS UNDER 35: 297	289			
Journalist Young Members Communicator Young Mem				
TOTAL RETIRED MEMBERS: 564		502		
TOTAL NON-RESIDENT: 993		853		

TOTAL PAYING MEMBERS: 3,073

3,200

TOTAL COMMUNICATOR SLOTS OPEN: 0 0