MINUTES NATIONAL PRESS CLUB BOARD OF GOVERNORS January 21, 2011

The meeting was called. to order at 1:40 p.m by Club Secretary Joel Whitaker.

Present; Mark Hamrick, John Hughes, Myron Belkind, Ed Barks, Mark Wojno, John Donnelly, Shawn Bullard, Patrick McGrath, Keith Hill, Richard Dunham, Angela Greiling Kean, Rodrigo Valderrama and Theresa Werner.

Whitaker called for nominations for Board Chairman. Theresa Werner was nominated and elected by acclamation.

Whitaker then called for nominations for Vice Chairman of the Board. John Donnelly was nominated and elected by acclamation.

Board Chairman Warner assumed the chair, and called for approval of the minutes of the Dec. 13, 2010, board meeting. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Membership:

Angela Greiling Keane moved approval of the persons seeking admission to the Club. After discussion, it was decided to defer action on one applicant. The motion was so amended, and passed unanimously without further discussion.

NPC Donation of Eric Friedham Memorial Library:

Board Chairman Warner reported that an email vote of the board was conducted on December 31 on the following motion by then-President Alan Bjerga:

I move that the Club offer a gift to the Eric Friedheim National Journalism Library of \$40,000 on the assumption that the Club will reach its budgeted profit for the year. Should the Club fall below its projected profit for 2010, the Club will maintain its allocation to the Library's Professional Development activities at \$25,000, rather than \$40,000 as planned in the 2011 budget assumptions.

The motion was passed unanimously.

Eric Friedham National Journalism Library:

On the motion of President Mark Hamrick, with a second, and with unanimous approval of the board the following persons were appointed to the Eric Friedham National Journalism Library board:

-- For one-year terms: Barbara Cochran, University of Missouri, to fill an unexpired NPF term, and Mark Hamrick NPC President, vacancy in a two-year term ending in 2011.

-- For two-year terms, ending in 2012: Alan Bjerga. Bloomberg; Kathy Bonk, Communictions Consortium; Pat McMurray, Quinn Gillespie; Jerry Zremski, Buffalo News; Angela Greiling Kean, Bloomberg; Marguerite Sullivan, Center for International Media Assistance at the National Endowment for Democracy, and Tony Culley-Foster, international communications consultant.

Appointments – Fourth Estate Selection Committe

On the motion of President Hamrick, with a second and with unanimous approval, Jerry Zremski and Tammy Lytle were appointed to the Fourth Estate Selection Committee.

President Hamrick moved to adjourn at 1:50 p.m. The motion was seconded by several members and passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

JOEL WHITAKER Club Secretary