National Press Club Board Of Governors Minutes January 20, 2012 Meeting

The organizational meeting of the Board of Governors for 2012 was called to order by Club Secretary Joel Whitaker.

Present: President Theresa Werner, Vice President Angela Greiling Keane, Treasurer Myron Belkind, Secretary Joel Whitaker, Membership Secretary Nyia Hawkins, John Donnelly, Patrick McGrath, Mark Wojno, Ken Mellgren, Ed Barks, John Hughes, Thomas Burr, Suzanne Struglinski, Frederica Dunn, Immediate Past President Mark Hamrick, NPC Journalism Institute President Richard Dunham,

Absent: None

Upon motion by Whitaker/Donnelly the December 19, 2012, minutes were approved.

Nomination for Board Officers

Whitaker called for nominations for Board Chairman. Donnelly/McGrath moved election of John Hughes. There being no other nominations, Hughes was elected chairman by acclamation.

Whitaker called for nominations for vice chairman. Donnelly/Hamrick moved the election of Marc Wojno. There being no other nominations, Wojno was elected by acclamation.

Election of Board officers having been concluded, Hughes assumed the chair.

Membership

Upon motion by Hawkins/Wojno the following applications which have been reviewed and approved by the Membership Committee were approved with Donnelly abstaining::

Name	Affiliation	Sponsor
<u>Journalist</u> Jennifer Babich	Time Warner Cable - News & Local Programming Executive Producer / Bureau Chief	Membership Committee
Jeffrey P. Ballou*	Al Jazeera Network	Membership Committee
Julio E. Aliaga	WZDC Telemundo News Director	Membership Committee

Journalist Young Member

Erin Billups	Time Warner Cable - News & Local Programming Video Journalist	Membership Committee
Leslie A. Mayes	Time Warner Cable - News & Local Programming Producer	Membership Committee
Lauri Elliot	Conceptualee, Inc/Afribiz Division Editor and Author Non-fiction	Membership Committee
Communicator - Former Journalist		
Antony Alan Botto	Department of State Sr. Producer/Director	Miriam Rider James Lobe
Linken Nymann Berryman	Royal Norwegian Embassy Counselor & Head of Communications & Culture department	Peter Hickman
Michael Joseph LaRosa	Washington Business Journal Account Executive Sponsorship & Events	Anthony Shop
Communicator Non-Resident		
Mike Cavender	Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) Executive Director	Thomas G. Donlan Ken Mellgren Mark Hamrick
Communicator Young Member		
Syed Edwan Anwar	Embassy of Malaysia First Secretary, Public Diplomacy	Peter Hickman
Building Tenant		
Beatrice Diah	Macfadden Senior Grants Manager	Kristina Southam Gloria Allen
<u>Student</u>		
Stephen Nielsen	Virginia Commonwealth University Mass Communications & Print Journalism	Membership Committee
Whitney Anne Headlee	Georgetown University	Membership
	Graduate Student/Public Relations & Corporate Communication	Committee

Upon motion by Hawkins/Keane, applications for transfer of members to retired status and to active journalist status were approved.

Constitutional Amendment Regarding Communicator News Sources

Hawkins yielded to Keane for the introduction of a Constitutional amendment regarding Communicators qualified as News Sources. Upon motion by Keane/Donnelly, the following motion was approved:

I move the NPC Constitution, Art. III, Sec. 1 (b)(v) be amended as follows (new matter is in bold; there are no deletions):

(v) News Source – Persons whose profession or business involves regular contacts with members of **qualified news outlets** or whose duties involve preparation or dissemination of News and information. A letter from a member of the working press **from a qualified news outlet citing specific examples of the individual's use as a news source** is required to validate source status **as a regular news source**.

During discussion, Keane emphasized the thrust of the change is to require sources to be regularly used as a source, not one time sources. The intent also is intended to preclude clips in lieu of source letters.

The motion having been approved, it will be submitted to the membership for ratification at the next General Membership Meeting.

Appointments to NPC Journalism Institute Board

Upon motion by President Werner/Wojno, Barbara Cochran, Rick Dunham, Mark Hamrick, Susan Heavy, Donna Leinwand and Ed Lewis were appointed to two-year terms as directors of the National Press Club Journalism Institute.

Next Meeting

Upon motion by Wojno/Donnelly, the next board meeting was set for 6:30 p.m., Monday, Feb. 27.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:41 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

JOEL WHITAKER Secretary