National Press Club Board of Governors Meeting Dec. 15, 2014

Chairman Ken Mellgren calls meeting to order at 6:34 p.m.

Paul Merrion, representing the House and Bar Committee, is introduced.

New board members Evan McMorris-Santoro of BuzzFeed in the journalist category and Tom McMahon of Motorola Solutions in the communicator category welcomed to the board.

October, November board meeting minutes approved.

Board Liaison reports approved.

Secretary Andrea Edney delivers election report. Voting tally: 153 of 1451 voting journalist members voted online; 75 of 1197 voting communicator members voted online. Forty people voted in person at the club on Dec. 12, election day. Because of the hearty adoption of online voting, Election Chairman Maureen Groppe, staff advisor Sarahanne Driggs recommend that we decrease the hours of in-person voting at the club on the day of the election to four or five hours from 11, possibly 12 p.m.- 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. or 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. During the rest of the day, at most three people voted per hour.

National Press Club Journalism Institute board approved as follows: Kathy Bonk of Communications Consortium, Kathleen Cromley of National Geographic TV, Jonathan Otto of Politico, Rob Stoddard of National Cable Telecommunications Association, Marguerite Sullivan -- Media Consultant were reappointed to twoyear terms. Jill Zuckman of SKDKnickerbocker was a new appointment to a two-year term ending in 2016. One two-year term remains open, with a candidate in mind. Myron Belkind of GW University was appointed to a one-year seat.

Membership Secretary Marc Wojno presents 32 candidates for membership. Approved. Eight candidates presented for shift to retired category. Approved. Two members approved for dues assistance.

Treasurer Tommy Burr presents report for November. Revenue beat targets. It looks like the club won't meet its profit goal for the year, although it will come close. Burr asks for approval of 2015 budget. Approved.

Paul Merrion and board member Joe Morton present review of House and Bar rules. The main changes is that members will be required to provide proof of membership to more of the Club's employees. Staff must confirm the age of any person trying to buy alcohol. Nobody under the age of 21 will be permitted in the bar unless accompanied by a member who is 21 or older. **Approved by electronic vote in January, 2015.

Executive Director Bill McCarren presents his report, comments on operations including broadcast, food costs, refrigerator replacement.

Chairman Mellgren says BOC/AV Media Department report to be presented in February. Board agrees.

Vice President John Hughes conveys message from Melinda Cooke, asking board members to be prompt with their reservations to the inaugural in January.

President Belkind presents his report, commends committee chairs incl. John Donnelly for his work with the Press Freedoms Committee and its fast responses to events. President Belkind comments on the 70th anniversary of the Capital Press Club on Dec. 4, celebrated at the NPC in the ballroom. Capitol Press Club President Hazel Edney awarded National Press Club Membership. President Belkind noted the children's holiday party on Dec. 10, the Vivian Awards on Jan. 12, the board appreciation dinner on Jan. 13, the General Membership Meeting on Jan. 16. President Belkind commends the Speakers Committee and notes the upcoming appearance of San Francisco's mayor at the Club.

Next BOG meeting set for Jan. 16, following the General Membership Meeting. Chair and vice chair to be elected there.

Chairman Mellgren adjourns the meeting.

In attendance:

- Chairman Ken Mellgren, Associated Press (Retired)
- Vice Chairman Jeff Ballou, Al Jazeera
- President Myron Belkind, George Washington University
- Vice President John Hughes, Bloomberg News
- Treasurer Tommy Burr, Salt Lake Tribune
- Secretary Andrea Edney, Bloomberg News
- Membership Secretary Marc Wojno, Kiplinger
- Board member Frederica Dunn, Jamestown Post Journal
- Board member Alison Fitzgerald, Center for Public Integrity

- Board member Marilyn Geewax, National Public Radio
- Board member Molly McCluskey, Freelance
- Board member Joseph Morton, Omaha World Herald
- Board member Ed Barks, Barks Communications
- Board member Anthony Shop, Social Driver
- Board member Suzanne Struglinski, Baker & McKenzie
- National Press Club Executive Director Bill McCarren
- Ex Officio Angela Greiling Keane, Bloomberg News
- Ex Officio Barbara Cochran, University of Missouri
- 2015 board member Evan McMorris-Santoro of BuzzFeed
- 2015 board member Tom McMahon of Motorola Solutions