National Press Club Board of Governors Meeting Jan. 16, 2015

Secretary Andrea Edney calls meeting to order following General Membership Meeting, calls for nomination of chairman.

President John Hughes nominates 2014 Chairman Ken Mellgren. Treasurer Marc Wojno seconds. Ken Mellgren unanimously voted in as chairman.

Secretary Edney calls for nomination of vice chairman. Chairman Mellgren nominates 2014 Vice Chairman Jeff Ballou. Vice President Thomas Burr seconds. Jeff Ballou unanimously voted in as vice chairman.

Membership Secretary Joseph Morton presents list of new members to be approved, including one member on a provisional basis. List approved unanimously. Three members approved for retired status, one journalist member approved for dues assistance.

One member approved for change to journalist status from communicator status.

Secretary Edney calls for approval of December minutes. Unanimously approved.

New Business: NPR Executive Editor Madhulika Sikka nominated by NPC Journalism Institute to its board for a 2-year term ending in 2016.

Chairman Mellgren moves to approve her board seat, Treasurer Wojno seconds. Unanimously approved.

Next board meeting set for Feb. 23. Meeting adjourned.

In attendance:

- Chairman Ken Mellgren, Associated Press (Retired)
- Vice Chairman Jeff Ballou, Al Jazeera
- President John Hughes, Bloomberg News
- Vice President Tommy Burr, Salt Lake Tribune
- Treasurer Marc Wojno, Kiplinger
- Secretary Andrea Edney, Bloomberg News
- Membership Secretary Joseph Morton, Omaha World Herald
- Board member Frederica Dunn, Jamestown Post Journal
- Board member Evan McMorris-Santoro, BuzzFeed
- Board member Ed Barks, Barks Communications
- Board member Tom McMahon, Motorola Solutions
- National Press Club Executive Director Bill McCarren
- Ex Officio Myron Belkind, George Washington University