Minutes of the National Press Club Board of Governors meeting on June 20, 2016

Attending: President Thomas Burr, Vice President Jeff Ballou, Secretary Joseph Morton, Andrea Snyder, Marilyn Geewax, Ferdous Al-Faruque, Michael Freedman, Tom McMahon, Ed Barks, Molly McClusky, Anthony Shop, John Hughes, Ken Melgren.

The meeting convened at 6:36 p.m.

Auditors provided the board with the final copy of their audit.

Morton moved approval of the minutes. Burr seconded. Approved unanimously.

The Board considered press freedom award winners, which will be publicized later.

Snyder presented the treasurer's report. May was the second month to exceed \$1.4 million in revenue, putting the club over budget for revenue.

Will Lester presented other award winners. Burr moved approval. Snyder seconded. Approved unanimously. The awards will be presented at a dinner on August 4th.

Morton moved approval of 36 new club members. Ballou seconded. Approved unanimously.

Morton moved approval of membership status changes (4 retired and 1 dues assistance) and reciprocal memberships with The Montauk Club in Brooklyn, NY and The Toledo Club in Toledo, OH. Seconded by Ballou. Approved unanimously.

Burr delivered a presentation on security renovation for the club and moved approval of expenditures of up to \$350,000. Ballou seconded.

Barks moved to enter Committee of the Whole. Burr seconded. Unanimously approved.

Burr moved approval of security renovation of up to \$350,000.

Burr moved to exit Committee of the Whole. Danny seconded. Approved unanimously.

Burr again moved approval of security renovation of up to \$350,000. Ballou seconded. Approved unanimously.

McCarren delivered executive director's report, including details on a free country music event coming up.

Burr presented President's report, including plans to update Truman lounge and the bar floor.

Evan McMorris Santoro has offered his resignation as membership secretary. Burr

moved approval of Molly McClusky as membership secretary and Evan McMorris Santoro as board member. Ballou seconded. Approved unanimously.

The board set the date of the next meeting: at 6:30 p.m. on July 15.

Burr boved to adjourn. Morton seconded. Approved unanimously.