MEETING OF THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE NATIONAL PRESS CLUB Jan. 13, 2006 Sylvia Smith, Secretary

Secretary Sylvia Smith called the meeting to order at 1:05 pm. Present were President Jonathan Salant, Vice president Jerry Zremski, Treasurer Donna Leinwand and Membership secretary John Donnelly and Governors Joe Anselmo, John Gallagher, Mark Hamrick, Maureen Groppe, Keith Hill, Gayela Bynum and Lou Priebe and former President Rick Dunham. Governors Alan Bjerga and Alison Bethel were absent.

Smith called for nominations for the chair. Hill moved the nomination of Hamrick, seconded by Bynum. Zremski moved to close the nominations, seconded by Leinwand. The vote was unanimous. Leinwand moved and Donnelly seconded that Hamrick's election be by acclamation. The board approved.

Smith called for nominations for vice chair. Hamrick moved the nomination of Groppe, seconded by Zremski. Leinwand moved the nominations be closed, seconded by Hill. Leinwand moved and Donnelly seconded that the vote to elect Groppe vice chairwoman Be by acclamation. The board approved.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE

Donnelly moved and the board approved the following 20 members:

ACTIVE: Max Berley, congressional editor, Bloomberg News; Curtis Eichelberger, correspondent, Bloomberg News; Marta Fita, bureau chief, WPROST; Matthew Mogul, associate editor, Kiplinger Washington Editors; Betsy Scolnik, vice president of content development, National Geographic Society; Charles B. Smith, senior journalist, Media 24 Newspapers, South Africa.

ACTIVE UNDER 35: Joel Kirkland, associate editor, Platts McGraw-Hill.

ACTIVE UNDER 30: Nathan A. Burchfiel, correspondent, Cybercast News Service; Nathan Lauterstein, production technician/video editor, Gannett Co.; Alan Wirzbicki, freelancer.

ACTIVE REINSTATEMENT: David Braun, news director, National Geographic Society; Pablo Sanchez-Obando, senior producer, Univision News.

ASSOCIATE: F. Gregory Ahern, chief public communications officer, Investment Company Institute; Hansel Cox, vice president of communications, National Association of Manufacturers; Mark Meudt, vice president of corporate communications, Anteon Corp.; Joan Bryna Michelson, JB Michelson & Associates.

ASSOCIATE UNDER 35: Christopher Lagan, press secretary, Data Foundation.

ASSOCIATE NON-RESIDENT: Kristofer Herlitz, vice president, The Herlitz Co., Larchmont, N.Y.; Alan L. Marx, partner, King & Ballow, Nashville, Tenn.

ASSOCIATE REINSTATEMENT: David M. Warner, director of communications, National Pork Producers Council.

Donnelly moved and the board approved a dues waiver for 1 members.

NEW BUSINESS

Salant moved and the board approved the following appointments to the Library Board: Dunham, president; Smith, Zremski, Salant, Benfred Clement Smith, Larry Lipman, Gil Klein, Rebecca Carr (Women's National Press Foundation) and George Condon (National Press Club Foundation). Salant said when Carr and Condon propose other appointees from their organizations, he will make the substitution.

Smith moved and the board approved that Leinwand and Salant be authorized to sign checks on behalf of the Club.

Leinwand said she received a proposal from the 2005 Travel Committee chairman for a cosponsored trip to a Civil War battlefield from the Civil War Preservation Trust. The group is proposing a duplicate of the 2005 trip whereby the trust paid for a bus and box lunches for NPC members to go to a battlefield in exchange for the trust receiving a room for an event at no charge. **Salant moved and the board approved the agreement.**

The next meeting was set for Feb. 13. The board/committee chairs retreat is Feb. 4.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 pm.