# MEETING OF THE NATIONAL PRESS CLUB BOARD OF GOVERNORS Jan. 15, 2010

# Myron Belkind, Secretary

Secretary Myron Belkind called the meeting to order at 1:15 p.m. to elect a Chair and Vice Chair of the Board of Governors prior to taking up any other business.

Present were President Alan Bjerga, Vice President Mark Hamrick, Secretary Myron Belkind, Treasurer Keith Hill, Membership Secretary Angela Greiling Keane, Governors Shawn Bullard, Ed Barks, John Donnelly, Rodrigo Valderrama, Theresa Werner, Mark Wojno, Mike Soraghan, Jessica Brady, John Hughes and Jennifer Sergent.

Belkind opened the floor to nominations for Board Chair and Vice Chair.

The following were duly nominated, seconded and elected unanimously:

Chair: Theresa Werner

Vice Chair: John Donnelly

Theresa Werner presided over the remainder of the meeting as Chair. The following actions were taken:

- 1. Belkind moved and the Board approved the minutes of the December 22, 2009 meeting.
- 2. On the recommendation of the Membership Secretary, the Board approved the application of 19 members (see list at the end of these minutes).
- 3. Alan Bjerga proposed the following four motions that were seconded and adopted unanimously:

#### **Dates for Fund-raisers**

That the National Press Club Board of Governors endorse the Board of the Eric Friedheim National Journalism Library's planned schedule for its three most prominent fund-raisers: the 5K race in June, the Fourth Estate Awards Dinner in September and the Book Fair in November.

# **Fourth Estate Awards Committee Appointments**

That the following individuals be appointed to the National Press Club's Fourth Estate Awards Committee for three-year terms beginning with this year's first meeting of the committee: Ann McFeatters and David Hess.

### **Eric Friedheim National Journalism Library Board Appointments**

That the National Press Club Board of Governors appoint the following individuals to the Board of the Eric Friedheim National Journalism Library:

For one-year terms:

Gloria Bergguist Kathy Bonk Tony Culley-Foster Jennifer Sergent Sylvia Smith Jerry Zremski

For two-year terms: Dena Bunis Rick Dunham Bill Hickman Donna Leinwand Ed Lewis Ann McFeatters

#### **Fourth Estate Award Election Process**

That for the year 2010, the ballot for the selection of the year's Fourth Estate Award winner be conducted via secret ballot, with Board members casting their votes at the front desk within 48 hours of the announcement of the vote.

The election took place accordingly, and Bob Schieffer, the longtime host of "Face the Nation" on CBS, was named the 38<sup>th</sup> winner of the National Press Club's highest honor.

The Club's Board of Governors unanimously voted to give the Fourth Estate Award to Schieffer for his exemplary career at CBS as well as his extraordinary contributions to journalism and the Club over the years.

# Dates for February, March Board Meetings set

The next two meetings of the Board of Governors were set for 6:30pm, Monday, Feb. 22, and Monday, March 22.

The Jan. 15 meeting of the Board of Governors was adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

# **New Member Applications Approved**

<u>Active:</u> David J. Friar - Associated Press, Reporter/Producer; Julienne Marie Gage - Indagar Media Corp., Freelance Journalist/Producer; Holly Rosenkrantz – Bloomberg, Reporter

<u>Active Non-Resident:</u> Neil St. Clair , Martinsville, NJ - News 10 Now/Time Warner Cable, Television Reporter; Katherine Winn, Los Angeles, CA - Associated Press/Getty Images/Corbis Freelance, Photographer/Photojournalist

<u>Active Under 30:</u> Patrick Kelly Host - Inside Washington Publishers, Associate Editor/Reporter; Hannah Seligson – Freelance, Journalist; Kristina R. Sherry - Inside Washington Publishers, Associate Editor/Reporter

<u>Provisional Non-Resident</u>: Jennifer DePaul, Jaffrey, NH - Nashua Telegraph, Freelance Journalist

<u>Affiliate:</u> Michelle Blackston - National Conference of State Legislatures, Director, Media and Public Affairs; Lindsay Rosenberg Ellenbogen - City of New York, Mayor Michael Bloomberg, Deputy Director/Public Relations Manager; Kathleen Graham - Radio Television Digital News Foundation, Executive Director

<u>Affiliate Under 35:</u> John Rory Eastburg - Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, McCormick Legal Fellow; Mara Gassmann - Georgetown University, Law Student; Jenni Glenn Gingery - G&H International Services, Inc., Public Affairs Specialist

<u>Associate:</u> Joseph T. McCarthy - Federal Aviation Administration, RNAV/RNP Air Traffic Manager; Paul Minehart - Syngenta Corporation, Head, Corporate Communications North America

<u>Associate Under 35:</u> Gabrielle Faulcon - Sunrise Communications, Principal, Media Relations Consultant; Lauren Lawson - Goodwill Industries International, Media Relations Manager/National Spokesperson