MEETING OF THE NATIONAL PRESS CLUB BOARD OF GOVERNORS Jan. 16, 2009 Myron Belkind, Secretary

Secretary Myron Belkind called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. to elect a Chair and Vice Chair of the Board of Governors prior to taking up any other business.

Present were President Donna Leinwand, Vice President Alan Bjerga, Secretary Myron Belkind, Treasurer Keith Hill, Membership Secretary Mark Hamrick, Governors Dipka Bhambhani, Jessica Brady, Shawn Bullard, John Donnelly, Jennfer Sergent, Mike Soraghan and former president Sylvia Smith.

Belkind opened the floor to nominations for Board Chair and Vice Chair.

The following were duly nominated and seconded for the office of Chair:

Dipka Bhambhani Jennifer Sergent

Ballots were distributed and tallied by the Secretary. Jennifer Sergent was declared elected Chair by 9 votes to 3.

John Donnelly was nominated, seconded and unanimously elected by the Board as Vice Chair.

Jennifer Sergent presided over the remainder of the meeting as Chair. The following actions were taken:

1. Belkind moved and the Board approved the minutes of the December 15 meeting.

2. On the recommendation of the Membership Secretary, the Board approved the application of 84 members (see attached list), retired status for 6 members and a sixmonth dues waiver for 1 member.

3. On the recommendation of the Membership Secretary, the Board approved a one-year extension of the waiver of the initiation fees that had been in effect during the Club's Centennial Year. Membership Secretary Hamrick said the initiation fee waiver "had been a very successful recruitment tool."

The next meeting of the Board of Governors was set for 6:30pm, Monday, Feb. 23.

The Jan. 16 meeting of the Board of Governors was adjourned at 1:20 p.m.